What does commute a sentence mean?

In law, a commutation is the substitution of a lesser penalty for that given after a conviction for a crime. The penalty can be lessened in severity, in duration, or both. The conditions must be lawful and reasonable.

---

Commutation is a form of clemency that reduces the punishment for a crime. A commuted sentence replaces the original, court-ordered sentence.