What plant does quinoa come from?

Quinoa is an annual seed-producing flowering plant grown as a grain crop. It is a pseudocereal, not a grass, unlike wheat and rice. It's botanically related to spinach. Quinoa seeds are rich in protein, dietary fiber, B vitamins, and minerals in amounts greater than in many grains. It is gluten-free