What plant does quinoa come from?

Quinoa is both the name of the plant and the grain it produces. Quinoa is more closely related to spinach than to grasses.

---

Quinoa is an annual seed-producing flowering plant grown as a grain crop. It is a pseudocereal, not a grass, unlike wheat and rice. It's botanically related to spinach. Quinoa seeds are rich in protein, dietary fiber, B vitamins, and minerals in amounts greater than in many grains. It is gluten-free