What was the fourteenth amendment passed?

The Fourteenth Amendment (Amendment XIV) to the United States Constitution was adopted on July 9, 1868. The amendment addresses citizenship rights and equal protection of the laws and was proposed in response to issues related to former slaves following the American Civil War.