What's the definition of sub cooling?

The term refers to a liquid existing at a temperature below its normal boiling point. For example, water boils at 373 K; at room temperature the water is termed "subcooled". A subcooled liquid is the convenient state in which refrigerants may undergo the remaining stages of a refrigeration cycle