What was the san francisco earthquake in nineteen oh six?

The 1906 San Francisco earthquake struck the coast of Northern California at 5:12AM on Wednesday, April 18 with an estimated moment magnitude of 7.9 and a maximum Mercalli intensity of XI (Extreme). Devastating fires soon broke out in the city and lasted for several days. Death toll was near 3,000.