What do they put in glow sticks?

Commercially available glow sticks rely on a chemical reaction called chemiluminescence. This reaction often uses hydrogen peroxide and phenyl oxalate ester along with a fluorescent dye. The reaction of the two chemicals excites electrons in the dye, which, in turn produces light.