Who was the first to circumnavigate the globe?

Fernão de Magalhães The First Circumnavigation of the Globe. One of the most noted of Portuguese-born explorers was Fernão de Magalhães (anglicized as "Magellan"), who instigated and organized the first circumnavigation of the globe from 1519 to 1522.