How long should a rib roast rest?

After being removed from the heat source, a rib roast should be covered and allowed to rest 20 to 30 minutes before carving. This helps keep the juices in.

---

How long a rib roast should rest, depends a bit on the size and if it is bone-in or boneless. A full standing rib roast (bone-in) should rest 20 to 30 minutes. Smaller roasts 10 to 20 minutes.