Who is denver colorado named after?

On or about November 22, 1858 land speculators from eastern Kansas Territory, placed cottonwood logs to stake a claim on the bluff overlooking the confluence of the South Platte River and Cherry Creek and named the town Denver after the Kansas Territorial Governor James W. Denver.