Is there really a mayberry north carolina?

Mayberry, North Carolina is a fictional community that was the setting for two popular American television sitcoms, The Andy Griffith Show and Mayberry R.F.D. ... Mayberry is said to be based on Andy Griffith's hometown of Mount Airy, North Carolina.