Was texas a state during the civil war?

Texas became a U.S. state in 1845, and during the Civil War joined the Confederacy. Army soldiers arrived in Texas on June 19, 1865 to take possession of the state, restore order, and enforce the new law. The date is now commemorated as the holiday Juneteenth.