How is carbon used in food?

Carbon is an element that is essential to life on Earth. Carbon makes up the fats and carbs of our food and is like DNA a protein, that make up our bodies. CO2 is used in drying to extend fruit & vegetables shelf-life, as dry ice for goods refrigeration in transit, stunning animals before slaughter