When was the electricity invented?

1879, Thomas Edison

---

No single person discovered electricity. Human understanding of electricity was built upon over the course of centuries. The greeks described static electricity in 600 BC. The term "electricity" was coined in the early 1600s by Thomas Brown. Ben Franklin performed his famous kite experiment in 1752.