How does bitcoin mining work?

Bitcoin mining process of adding transaction records to Bitcoin's public ledger of past transactions or blockchain. The ledger of past transactions is called the block chain as it is a chain of blocks. The block chain serves to confirm transactions to the rest of the network as having taken place