Is there a cuticle a word?

Cuticle is a word, it is a layer of wax and cutin that covers the outermost surfaces of a plant. Humans have several cuticles, as the thickened layer of skin surrounding fingernails and toenails, and to refer to the superficial layer of overlapping cells covering the hair shaft.