Why is breakfast called breakfast?

Breakfast, properly speaking is the meal that breaks the fast. Fasting is a period of time where you are not eating, such as when you are asleep. The first meal you have after a night's rest, is the meal that breaks the fast.

---

According to Wikipedia, the English word "breakfast" refers to breaking the period of fasting experienced during the previous night.