What makes the heart?

The heart is actually a muscular organ. It is made of cardiac muscle, a special type of muscle only found in the heart. Coordinated contractions of cardiac muscle, which are controlled by special cells called pacemaker cells, allow for your heart to pump blood as a single functional unit.