How do people make gold?

Gold is obtained from lode deposits by drilling, blasting, or shoveling the surrounding rock. Miners dig shafts into the ground along the vein. Using picks and small explosives, they then remove the gold ore from the surrounding rock which is then gathered up and taken to a mill for refinement.