What is skunk smell?

The musk sprayed by a skunk cannot be described, other than it is very offensive. Skunks can spray up to ten feet if threatened. Skunks are very docile, and will leave you alone if you slowly back away, or stand like a statue until they leave. The spray is hard to wash off, and can smell for days