How do i make pickled beets?

Thinly slice 1 lb of cooked beets. Combine one-half cup vinegar and one-fourth cup sugar in a small saucepan. Bring to a boil; cook 5 minutes. Remove from heat; stir in one-fourth tsp salt, one-half tsp peppercorns, and 2 bay leaves. Pour mixture over beets; cover and chill. Discard bay leaves.