Is there a world law against war?

While there is no specific law outlawing war, there are agreements to manage the conduct of conflicts when they occur, such as the Hague and Geneva Conventions. These primarily restrict use of certain classes of weapons, ensure humane treatment of prisoners, and attempt to limit civilian casualties.