Is hopper from stranger things dead?

No remains of hopper were shown in the last episode. And a prison guard in Russia later referenced "The American" So it is still possible that hopper chose to enter the rift to the Upside down at the last moment. Rather the be killed by the explosion.

---

Are you thinking that Chief Jim Hopper, supposedly killed in an explosion, may actually be in a Russian prison? Consider the hints: The musical cue, the post-credits scene, references to The American. Plus, in Hollywood, you don't die off-camera! Of course I know. But I would never spoil it for you!