Do you have to pay to charge a tesla?

If you have the Performance variant — which has a range of 348 miles — it costs $15.29 for a full charge based on electricity prices of 13 cents per kWh and 85% charging efficiency. That gives you a charging cost of 4.4 cents a mile, or $4.40 per 100 miles.