How long does it take to garbage food?

Time for food waste decomposition depends on the type of food. Normally, an orange peel takes six months, while an apple core takes around two months, and a banana peel takes two to 10 days, to decompose. If buried in landfills, it can take things between 80-100 years for complete decomposition.