What's the difference between a physician and a physician's assistant?

The main difference between a physician and a physician’s assistant is, a doctor can work autonomously, whereas a physician’s assistant must work under a supervising doctor. However, a physician’s assistant is trained and capable of performing around 80% of the same work a doctor can perform.