What's the difference between green beans and peas?

Green Beans and Peas are similar, they are both members of plants known as legumes. The flavor is different though, peas have a higher sugar content. Green beans are cooked and eaten whole in their pods, as are some edible podded peas, but English peas are shelled before cooking and eating.