What is the appendix in the body?

The appendix is a finger-like, blind-ended tube connected to the cecum. This structure helps in the proper movement and removal of waste matter in the digestive system, contains lymphatic vessels that regulate pathogens, and lastly, might even produce early defenses that prevent deadly diseases.