Where did the saying it's not over until the fat lady sings come from?

The phrase "It ain't over 'til the fat lady sings" is from the opera, where many great singers are overweight. When the lead soprano or alto sings the climax of the opera, you know it's nearly over, so people started saying this to mean "Wait a bit, it's not over yet."

---

During a basketball competition in Texas between the tied Texas Tech Red Raiders and the Texas A&M Aggies, the game announcer, Ralph Carpenter, stated “…the opera ain't over until the fat lady sings.” This was reported the next day in the Dallas Morning News newspaper, and the idiom caught fire.