Tell me the history of the dachshund?

Dachshunds were developed in the early 1700s by German breeders as a scent hound to hunt badgers, hence their name which translates as "badger hound" in English. They've been kept by royalty including Queen Victoria and Kaiser Wilhelm II, as well as famous painters Andy Warhol and Pablo Picasso.