Why is the superman dead?

The only time Superman has been believed to be dead was in the 1992 "Death of Superman" and subsequent "Reign of the Supermen" story arcs. On that occasion he was apparently killed by a new villain named Doomsday. Of course, he turned out to be only close to death, and got better.