What's the history of gettysburg?

Laid out in the 1780s by James Gettys, and called Gettys-town, it was renamed in 1800, when it became the county seat and was incorporated in 1806. This is the place, where President Abraham Lincoln delivered, his Gettysburg Address (November 19, 1863).