Why do dogs sniff other dogs butts?

It is their way of getting to know one another. Dogs are able to sense other dogs through their anus’.

---

Dogs' version of a handshake is to sniff the backside of their new friend. They learn sex, reproductive and health status, what it's eaten lately, and even the new dog's mood. It's not rude for dogs to sniff each other's behinds,

---

A butt sniff for dogs is like a handshake for humans. Dogs' amazing sense of smell is 10,000 to 100,000 times better than humans. They also have a special part of their noses called the Jacobson's organ that lets them ignore the smell of poop when they sniff another dog's rear.

---

Dogs' version of a handshake is to sniff the backside of their new friend. They learn sex, reproductive and health status, what it's eaten lately, and even the new dog's mood. It's not rude for dogs to sniff each other's behinds, however you shouldn't try the same thing with people you meet.

---

By sniffing a rear end, a dog can gain a lot of new knowledge, from his new friend's gender to his present mood and age -- and then some.