How big is the smithsonian museum?

Affectionately known as “the nation’s attic”, The Smithsonian Institute is made up of 19 museums, 21 libraries, 9 research centers, and a zoo. While it is located mostly in Washington DC, there are facilities in 45 states. Nearly 30 million people visit the Smithsonian each year.