Where is south sudan?

South Sudan is in central Africa. It is surrounded by Sudan on the north, Ethiopia on the east, Kenya and Uganda on the south and the Democratic Republic of the Congo and the Central African Republic on the west. It gained independence from Sudan in July 2011.