Is area fifty one real or fake?

Area 51 refers to a map location and is the popular name for a US Air Force base. Although it opened in 1955, its existence was only officially acknowledged in August 2013. Inside activities are extremely secret. The public is kept away by signs, electronic surveillance and armed guards.