What is bangers and mash?

Bangers and Mash is the term for Sausage and Mash, a favorite British and Irish dish. The name bangers is believed to come from the habit of sausages bursting in the pan with a bang if cooked too quickly. Bangers and Mash is quick and easy to make, and also makes a cheap yet very substantial meal.