When was the first landing on mars?

The Soviet spacecraft Mars two was the first craft to hit the planet on November 27th ,1971. The Soviet spacecraft Mars 3, landed successfully on Mars on December 2nd,1971. It only transmitted for 20 seconds. In 1976, US Viking 1 and 2 landed on June 19th, 1976 and September 3rd, 1976, respectively.