What is mace made out of?

Mace comes from the same tree as Nutmeg. Mace is made from the lacy membrane that lies between the ripe fruit and the nutmeg seed. It is sold whole or ground like nutmeg and is considered milder than nutmeg. But one can substitute for the other in a pinch.