Are beta fish nocturnal?

Sometimes a betta will snooze on a big leaf, closer to the top of the tank, as that's where they do it in the wild. Bettas are not nocturnal, so their sleeping habits dictate being active during daytime and going to sleep at night, or when the room gets dark.