What is a stromboli?

Stromboli is a type of turnover filled with various Italian cheeses and usually Italian cold cuts or vegetables. The dough used is either Italian bread dough or pizza dough. Stromboli was invented by Italian-Americans in the United States in the Philadelphia area.