How long do you boil beans?

Place beans in a large pot, and cover with fresh water, then bring it to a boil. Reduce the heat, cover and simmer for 45 minutes to 2 hours depending on the bean variety. Periodically taste test, or mash a bean to see if it is tender. You may need to check and add to water level periodically.