How do betting odds work?

There are a few methods of stating betting odds, but a common one is sometimes called fractional or European odds, with a ratio of a numerator over a denominator. An example of 6 over 1, or 6 to 1, means that a winning bet will pay 6 times the amount bet, e.g. a dollar bet can win 6 dollars.