Can butterflies see in the dark?

Most likely, butterflies are not equipped to see in the dark as well as other animals do, like owls. This is due to their diurnal lifestyle, similar to humans, they stay up during daylight and sleep at night.

---

Yes Like many other insects -like bees- or other animals -like birds-, butterflies can sense and see ultraviolet light (also known as UV light).