What's an open number line?

It is a blank number line on which children can mark points or numbers that are useful for solving problems. Children can use open number lines to record steps of mental computation strategies. For example: I want to solve 56 + 28. I can start at 56 and jump up 4 ones to get to an easy number, 60.