How did bucky barnes lose his arm?

In 1945, Captain America and Bucky tried to stop Baron Zemo from destroying a drone plane by launching it with an armed explosive device. Bucky tries to defuse the bomb but it explodes in mid-air. After the explosion, Bucky's cold-preserved body is found, albeit with his left arm severed.