How do you know if an avocado is ready?

If the avocado yields to firm gentle pressure you know it's ripe and ready-to-eat. Ripe avocados may have a darker color but color can vary so it is best to go by feel as well as color. It will feel lightly soft but it will not feel “mushy” to the touch.