Where are shakira's parents from?

Shakira Isabel Mebarak Ripoll was born on February 2, 1977, in Barranquilla, Colombia. She is the only child of William Mebarak Chadid, a second generation Lebanese American, and Nidia Ripoll Torrado, a citizen of Colombia. Her father was born in New York and then immigrated to Colombia at age 5.