What is the dollar coin made out of?

Since 2000, U.S. dollar coins have been made of a special mixture of copper, zinc, manganese, and nickel. Until 1935, dollar coins were made primarily of silver. Those made from 1971 to 1999 were copper-nickel clad. Some coins are still struck for collectors with at least 40% silver.