Which city has the highest tax rate?

Bridgeport, Connecticut. As one of the wealthiest cities in America, Bridgeport carries the highest overall tax rate in the nation. Wealthy taxpayers earning over $150,000 per year are on the hook for up to 22% in state and local taxes. A large chunk of this comes from the state's 5.2% top tax rate.