Why is ground beef called hamburger?

The name hamburger comes from Hamburg Germany. In the late 1700s, sailors who traveled between Hamburg and New York City often ate hard slabs of salted minced beef, which they called Hamburg steak. While the name stuck, Hamburg steak bore little resemblance to modern-day hamburgers.